ELEAGUE Major Offline Qualifier Begins Thursday, Dec. 15, at 10 a.m. ET with Live Coverage on Twitch

December 13, 2016

Tournament to Follow Modified Swiss System Format;

Teams Qualify for ELEAGUE Major with Three Victories

ELEAGUE, the transformative esports organization created by Turner and WME | IMG, will kick off the ELEAGUE Major Qualifier on Thursday, Dec. 15, at 10 a.m. ET, with live coverage from ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta available via Twitch. Comprehensive multi-angle coverage of select matches will also be available via ELEAGUE’s Game Command player at The first match will feature Team Dignitas and teenage prodigy Emil ‘Magisk’ Reif facing off against CIS Minor runner-up Team Spirit of Russia.

Here is a link to the match schedule for the first day of the Qualifier.

Sixteen teams will participate in the ELEAGUE Major Qualifier including ELEAGUE Season 02 Champion OpTic Gaming and North American fan favorites Cloud9; European titans Ninjas in Pyjamas; ELEAGUE Season 01 Semifinalist mousesports and French squad G2 Esports; as well as Immortals, TyLoo and ELEAGUE Season 02 Semifinalist FaZe Clan.

Tournament Format

The ELEAGUE Major Qualifier will follow a modified Swiss system format with 16 teams split into four, four-team pools. The first two pools will consist of the bottom eight finishers from the previous Major. The third and fourth pools will be made up of the champions and runners-up, respectively, of the Europe, Asia and CIS Minors and the Americas Qualifier.

Teams in each pool will be randomly matched up with teams from other pools, and will qualify for the ELEAGUE Major (Jan. 22-29, 2017) by earning three victories before being defeated three times. Likewise, teams will be eliminated upon reaching three losses before earning three victories.  

Round Best-of-One Matches Qualified Teams
1 Eight (0-0 vs. 0-0) 0
2 Four (1-0 vs. 1-0), Four (0-1 vs. 0-1) 0
3 Two (2-0 vs. 2-0), Four (1-1 vs. 1-1) & Two (0-2 vs. 0-2) 2
4 Three (2-1 vs. 2-1) & Three (1-2 vs. 1-2) 5
5 Three (2-2 vs. 2-2) 8

Talent Lineup

Richard Lewis will return to anchor the ELEAGUE desk, joined by analysts Jason ‘Moses’ O’Toole and Duncan ‘Thorin’ Shields for pregame, halftime and postgame coverage. Three pairs of casters – Anders Blume & Auguste ‘Semmler’ Massonat; James Bardolph & Daniel ‘DDK’ Kapadia; and Henry Greer & Matthew ‘Sadokist’ Trivett – will take viewers through each Counter-Strike: Global Offensive play in real-time.  Host Sue ‘Smix’ Lee will provide player interviews and reports on site. 

Here is a link to an image of the talent lineup for the Major Qualifier.

ELEAGUE’s Game Command to Provide Multi-Angle Coverage of Select Qualifier Matches

ELEAGUE’s Game Command, an innovative mosaic video player accessible via, will allow fans to watch select live matches from the ELEAGUE Major Qualifier through a customizable interface with thousands of different viewing options. Fans will be able to choose between individual player views (up to four at a time); a complete team vantage point for either squad’s complete lineup of five players displayed; the observer feed; and a large version of the game map.

More About ELEAGUE

For the latest ELEAGUE updates, including schedules and live match stats, visit, its Facebook page ( and Twitter account (@EL).