truTV Greenlights Third Season of Those Who Can’t

Network’s First Scripted Series Created by The Grawlix Comedy Troupe Returning to Smoot High

Here’s what we’ll spend the next few paragraphs telling you, in handy bullet form for easy skimming:
• truTV has picked up its scripted-series Those Who Can't for a 13-episode third season with an anticipated air date of late 2017;
• The series stars show creators and executive producers Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl, and Ben Roy – all members of the Denver-based comedy troupe The Grawlix – as trouble-making high school teachers at Smoot High. They are joined by Maria Thayer as the school’s librarian;
• Produced by Thank You Brain! Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment, Those Who Can't is truTV’s first scripted series and it originally premiered on the network on February 11, 2016. Season two aired in fall 2016.


truTV is going back to school. The Turner-owned network announced today the third season pick up of Those Who Can’t, its first scripted series starring series creators and executive producers Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy, members of the Denver-based comedy troupe The Grawlix, with Maria Thayer (Eagleheart) starring alongside as the school librarian. Together, it’s the faculty members – not the kids – of the fictional Smoot High in Denver, Colorado who are responsible for the outlandish exploits taking place inside the school’s walls. Throughout its first two seasons, the show has featured an impressive roster of guest stars including Susie Essman, Kyle Kinane, Hana Mae Lee, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Patton Oswalt, Cheri Oteri, Mary Lynn Rajskub, Rory Scovel, Baron Vaughn and many more.

"From day one, we have loved this show and are proud of the world of rich characters that Adam, Andrew and Ben have built through two successful seasons," said Chris Linn, president of truTV. "There are more hilarious stories to tell at Smoot High, and we can't wait to see what they come up with next."

Those Who Can’t is executive-produced by Tracey Baird and Krysia Plonka of Thank You, Brain! Productions; Michael Rotenberg and Josh Lieberman of 3 Arts Entertainment; and Richard Korson. The series, which originally premiered on truTV in February 2016, has developed a loyal, passionate fan base of comedy lovers and has one of truTV’s most socially-engaged audiences. The series’ first season can now be seen on Hulu, with all episodes from seasons one and two available via the truTV app, and on select VOD platforms.
Additionally, the series cast appears in truTV’s new “Funny because it’s tru” brand campaign that cements the network’s comedic roots – and no, Orvedahl wasn’t actually harmed (or killed) in the making of the spots. Check out more info on that campaign here.


About truTV

Seen across multiple platforms in 90 million households, truTV delivers a fresh and unexpected take on comedy with such popular original series as Impractical Jokers, Billy on the Street, The Carbonaro Effect, Adam Ruins Everything, Hack My Life and Fameless, as well as the original scripted comedy Those Who Can't. And the fun doesn't stop there. truTV is also a partner in airing the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship.

truTV is part of Turner, a Time Warner company. Turner creates and programs branded news; entertainment; kids and young adult; and sports media environments on television and other platforms for consumers around the world.


Publicity Contacts

Lauren McCabe

Elizabeth Schmidt